Reduce. Reuse. RePRETTY!

photo 1 (1)

So I know, I know… it’s been a while.  But I have to tell you; I was almost giving up on the blog thing.  With trying to accomplish all of my other aspirations (oh, don’t worry, you’ll be hearing about them soon!), and trying to do the real life thing with work and family, I just wasn’t sure how to keep up with it all.  But then I got a wonderful little email from a sweet girl at Hometalk encouraging me to post on there.  Which totally gave me the kick in the behind I needed to try this once more.

Annnnnyyyyy-way, I have a couple little projects I have been doing around the house that I thought I would share this week and next.  Seeing as how we are staying in this tiny house for a while, we decided to do some improvements to make it something we absolutely do love.  But, like pretty much everyone else I know, we are on a shoestring budget.  Which, to tell you the truth, I really don’t mind when it comes to decorating.  I actually love how it forces me to be more creative.  So what do you do with your creative juices flowing and no mula?  Well, reuse what you already have, of course!

I have had these wall candle sconces for quite a while.  I’m sure they came from Walmart years ago.  But I like the scroll-y-ness (yup, that’s a word… now.  ha!), and they are a pretty heavy metal.  From the picture, you can see that, at some point, I hastily tried to spice up the candles in them.

photo 3photo 2

So, as I was rearranging the living room for about the fifth time, and I saw these sconces, and all I could think about is how I have never even actually lit the candles.  Which is really kind of pointless if you ask me.  I like to aim for functional and pretty, not just one or the other.  But I couldn’t get rid of them.  They are too pretty to store down in the basement.  That’s when the epiphany hit me:  Oh.  em.  gee.  What if I switch the candles for plants?!  Ummm… yes!

I had some terra cotta pots left over that I had decorated for another project (I got to decorate a storefront window.  How cool is that!?) and I just thought they would be so darn adorable with the colors around the bottom for some pop against the white walls.  Which I just did by taping off the bottom and painting the lower half with some craft paint.  I chose some mini aloe plants that I got for $3.50 from Walmart for my greenery… because I just can’t seem to keep any other plants alive.  Something I am seriously working on around here.  *sigh*

Now all we have to do is set the pots on the part where the candles used to go and slide the glass tube around it.  Well, would ya just look at it!  So much more modern and colorful!  I love how one simple change can make a world of difference!

photo 1 (1)photo 5

What simple re-use project have you done that made you just fall back in love with it all over again!?

photo 4 photo 2 (1)

Leave a comment